Dinner without an oven

Picture 17

Tonight's meal was so very good and easy. I realized about two years ago when my then-boyfriend-now-husband created homemade mac and cheese on the stove top, that we were missing out each time I poured that crazy orange packet of dried stuff on our Arthur shaped noodles.

What were we missing? Protein! Fat! Ease of additions! I was creating a pretty good meal from a basic pasta/grated cheese/half & half/butter recipe, but along the way I've started to add a few more things to make it a meal rather than a side dish.

Some of the cleverly hidden additions: yellow beets, eggs, cream, butter (and more butter for a small baby :), chicken, turkey, parmesan cheese, onions, corn

Additions which they love and eat: carrots, ham, hot dogs, sausage, kale, spinach, tomatoes, leeks, potatoes, cottage cheese, herbs, parsnips, mushrooms, peppers, peas

I do realize that I have not cracked a new code here seeing as how the above mentioned ingredients are the components of every pasta dish ever known to a cook, but I am also staring down an electric skillet each and every night, creating something from the nothingness of it's versatility. It cooks like a skillet, up to 400 degrees (or so it says on the dial). I use it every day and I will be SO VERY HAPPY TO LEAVE IT HERE when we move. Enough said. Now, let's eat!

Leave a Reply

